November 8, 2018

Results of RC33 Board Elections (Election Period 2018 – 2022)

According to the RC33 statutes, for a new election period, the current President organizes the election and at the World Congress, automatically becomes Past President. The Secretary is automatically nominated for the office of RC33 President. In addition, for all board positions (except for Past President), additional candidates can be nominated. Accordingly, for the election period 2018 – 2022, Nina Baur organized the elections, and there was a call for nominations for candidates via the newsletter.

By the time of the World Congress, for two board positions (Vice President for ISA World Congress Programme Coordination and Vice President for ISA Forum Programme Coordination), no candidate have yet been nominated – should persons interested in these offices, please contact the new president. For all other board positions, exactly one candidate was nominated per board positions.

According to the statutes, the election was organized as an online ballot (from October 5th – 21st 2018). All 236 persons who were either registered as RC33 members via the RC33 website or via ISA were contacted via email, 9 of whom had provided an invalid email address, so a total of 227 persons were actually contacted. The voter turnout was 37% (83 persons).

The results of the election are as follow:

Position Name Vote (%) Vote (Total) Dissenting Vote (Total) Abstain (Total)
President Vera Toepoel 84% 70 3 10
Secretary Martin Weichbold 83% 69 3 11
Vice President for …
Finances Wander van der Vaart 82% 68 3 11
Membership Inga Gaižauskaitė 78% 65 3 14
Information Karl M. van Meter 76% 63 5 14
Online Communication Claire Wagner 78% 65 3 14
Awards Henrik Andersen 90% 75 0 7
Conferences Iasonas Lamprianou 89% 74 0 8
Vice Presidents at Large
Latin America Adriana García-Andrade 75% 62 3 17
Japan Fumiya Onaka 83% 69 1 12
East Asia Pei-shan Liao 87% 72 1 9
North America Rima Wilkes 86% 71 2 9
India Yashwant Deshmukh 75% 62 6 14

In the name of the whole of RC33, I congratulate all new board members to their new position!

Nina Baur

(RC33 Past President)

Leave a Reply